News Detail

New Members Named to Memorial Health, Springfield Memorial Hospital Boards


“We’re proud to have a board that brings together individuals from the community with such a variety of backgrounds, interests and expertise,” said SMH President and CEO Charles D. Callahan, PhD. “Our board members are passionate about Memorial Health’s mission to improve lives and build stronger communities through better health, and I look forward to working with them to fulfill that mission.”

New members joining the SMH board are:

Amy Beadle, marketing manager for the Springfield Convention & Visitors Bureau. She has more than 30 years of experience in the travel, hospitality, retail and tourism industry in Springfield and is active in many community organizations, including United Way of Central Illinois, Fishing Has No Boundaries and Habitat for Humanity of Sangamon County.

Janet Gooch, PhD, chancellor, University of Illinois Springfield and vice president, University of Illinois. Prior to becoming chancellor of UIS in 2022, she was executive vice president for academic affairs and provost professor of communication disorders at Truman State University. She serves on the board of the United Way of Central Illinois and the Springfield Sangamon Growth Alliance.

Marcus Johnson, president and CEO of Springfield Urban League. Johnson, a health educator, first joined the Urban League in 2014 as a health initiatives coordinator and was named to his current role in 2021. He also serves on the boards of the Springfield Sangamon Growth Alliance and Land of Lincoln Workforce Alliance.

Kirsten Kienzler, partner at Kerber, Eck and Braeckel LLP. A certified public accountant, Kienzler has more than 20 years of experience in the field. She is a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the Illinois CPA Society.

Greg Matthews, chief operating officer of Levi, Ray & Shoup, Inc. Matthews first joined LRS as a summer intern in 1999 and has since served in a variety of leadership roles. He is first vice president of the board of directors of Springfield YMCA and vice chairman and director of SangamonCEO/iVenturED. He is also a member of the board of directors for Sacred Heart-Griffin and the Springfield Sports Hall of Fame.

Clint Paul, president and CEO of Vision for Hope, the parent company of Hope Learning Academy, Hope Clinical Care and The Hope School Foundation. He joined Hope in 2009 as chief financial officer and was named to his current role in 2014.

Vidya Prakash, MD, associate dean of Clinical Affairs and Population Health and chief medical officer at SIU Medicine. After receiving her medical degree from the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, she served as an infectious diseases physician in the United States Air Force for ten years before joining SIU School of Medicine. She is the founder and director of SIU Medicine’s Alliance for Women in Medicine and Science.

Murty Renduchintala, MD, an internal medicine physician at Springfield Clinic. Dr. Renduchintala earned his medical degree from the American University of the Caribbean and completed a residency in internal medicine at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine.

Angie Sowle, chief executive officer at Springfield YMCA. Sowle first joined Springfield YMCA in 1987 and was named CEO in 2013. She currently serves as president of the Illinois State Alliance of YMCAs, as well as chair of the organization’s Advancement Committee.

The nine new members join current SMH board members Michael A. Aiello; Lynne D. Barkmeier, MD; Wendi Wills El-Amin, MD; David L. Griffen, MD; Timothy D. Harvey, MD; and James W. Reed Jr.

Two former members of the SMH board are also beginning terms on the Memorial Health board of directors:

Jennifer Gill, superintendent of Springfield Public Schools District 186. She also serves on the boards of the Springfield YMCA, Springfield Sangamon Growth Alliance, Large Unit District Association and Illinois Association of School Administrators.

Sergio “Satch” Pecori, chairman and CEO of Hanson Professional Services Inc. He has more than 40 years of experience in the engineering industry and has served in numerous leadership roles within the profession, including as an advisor to the U.S. Department of State and Department of Defense.

Current members of the Memorial Health board of directors are Michael A. Aiello; Reginald H. Benton; John D. Blackburn; Barbara A. Farley, PhD; Aimee L. Fyke; Randall S. Germeraad; Nina Harris; Joseph M. Hurwitz; Jerry E. Kruse, MD; Jonathan T. Locke, MD; Cheryl S. Martin; William D. Putman, MD; Dean E. Robert Jr.; Diane K. Rutledge, PhD; John Waddock and Todd W. Wise.

“I’m pleased that Jennifer Gill and Satch Pecori will be bringing their expertise to the Memorial Health board of directors,” said Ed Curtis, president and CEO of Memorial Health. “They are both leaders in their fields and have unique perspectives to share.”